Becoming A Woman Of Worth

What really matters to you?

I’m talking about the thing that keeps you up at night and gets you out of bed in the morning. It’s your drive, your motivation, your passion. It’s what you’re pouring out all your blood, sweat and tears for. Maybe it’s one thing, maybe many things, maybe you don’t know.

“Being the richest man in the cemetery doesn’t matter to me. Going to bed at night saying we’ve done something wonderful… that matters to me.” Steve Jobs

Steve Jobs ran Apple and grew it into a company that was hugely profitable. Way more profitable than its competitor Microsoft which was led by Bill Gates. At his death Steve Jobs was worth about US$7 billion. Bill Gates? At the time, his net worth was almost US$70 billion. Gates led the less commercially successful company and yet was worth 10 times more.

How is that even possible?

Jobs’ stake in Apple was significantly smaller than Gates’ share in Microsoft so he earned significantly less from the company that he ran. Whether you think this was wise or foolish on his part, what’s clear is that Jobs wasn’t in it for the money. He meant it when he said that being the richest man in the cemetery didn’t matter.

We’re all chasing something and for many of us that one thing is money. It’s the thing that keeps us up at night and gets us out of bed in the morning. It’s our drive, our motivation, our passion. The passion is more potent if you know what poverty is. Being poor is your biggest fear because you know what it’s like to do without things.

I’ll ask you again, what really matters to you?

“I increased my achievements. I built houses and planted vineyards for myself. I made gardens and parks for myself and planted every kind of fruit tree in them… I also amassed silver and gold for myself and the treasure of kings… When I considered all that I had accomplished and what I had laboured to achieve, I found everything to be futile and a pursuit of wind.” Ecclesiastes 2: 4,5,11

Money is necessary, it buys you stuff. Money is powerful, it opens doors. Money is helpful; it helps you to do good for other people. There’s nothing wrong with your desire to have a little money or a lot of it. There’s nothing wrong with working hard to own houses, cars and companies. In fact, wealth is a just reward for honest work and financial wisdom (Proverbs 13:11).

The problem with money is this: it is temporary, it doesn’t last. I walked through the cemetery last week and I was reminded of what an equaliser death is. Even the richest person in the world leaves her wealth behind, “Naked came I out of my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return.” (Job 1:21) If money is the one thing that keeps you up at night and gets you out of bed in the morning; if it’s what you’re living for then your life is meaningless and all your work will come to nothing.

“Don’t weary yourself out to get rich; stop giving your attention to it. As soon as your eyes fly to it, it disappears, it makes wings for itself and flies like an eagle to the sky.” Proverbs 23: 5

A woman of worth is someone who understands this. She doesn’t measure her value or the value of others in money terms. She may have stores of silver and gold but the real treasure is her heart. Everything begins and ends with the heart. A meaningful life, a full life, a satisfied life, flows out of a satisfied heart.

Your turn

What does being a woman of worth mean in real terms?

Honey love
Shulaxoxo


What are your thoughts?

