When You Obey, It Pours

Contributor: ReleboneRirhandzu

Bonnie, Dusty Soul, God’s Baby Girl, The Black Feather, Ranz, Rhandzu, etc, etc; is a small town girl getting lost in the big city. When she’s not trolling Jo’burg for vintage and antiquarian book stores, she’s reading, writing, spending time with family and friends, and finding her way home. She also has too many pseudonyms for her own good.

"’Because a loveless world, said Jesus, ‘is a sightless world. If anyone loves me, he will carefully keep my word and my Father will love him – we’ll move right into the neighbourhood! Not loving me means not keeping my words." John 14:23-24 (MSG)

Joburg weather is a bit like a newborn baby – you can pretty much tell its temperament most of the time except when you can’t. Sometimes it just behaves unpredictably like cry for no reason. In the weather’s case, it’ll pour down thunderstorms (complete with hail) out of the blue. I’ve taken to carrying an umbrella everywhere I go, but the other day I sort of didn’t want to. It was sunny and it looked like it wouldn’t rain, so I didn’t get why God kept nudging me to take it with. I refused, but the nudging was insistent, so I took my raincoat instead (because it fit better into my bag, LOL), and headed out to meet up with a friend. A little before I went home, it started to pour – and hail. Of course, my little raincoat was useless in that circumstance. If I had brought my umbrella, it would have shielded me and my friend from the downpour. Darn, shoulda listened. Shoulda trusted Him.

While I was pinching myself for not being obedient even in the little-little-little things; God used that as a way to show me that when we are obedient to Him, it not only blesses us – it blesses those around us too.

Obedience is really about trust – and it is better than sacrifices (1 Samuel 15:22), or serving in church, or fasting, or whatever other modern-day equivalent to sacrifices we can think of. God desires relationship with us. Not only do all relationships need boundaries (mutual respect, not hurting the other intentionally, etc), they need us to lay down our pride. If you have a hard time trusting Him, maybe it is because you have a hard time believing that He had your best interests at heart, that His will is perfect, that His judgement is never flawed, that you can’t do it on your own.

Do you trust Him? If not, why? Try and find the root of your mistrust and surrender it to God.

I love how Bern Sternke put it:

"Sacrifice in this sense is actually an attempt to gain independence from God. If we sacrifice for him then we put him in our debt…sacrifice is a way of ‘buying’ whatever we want from God…while at the same time remaining independent from Him." (Bernsternke.com)

True love for God, as Jesus said, means we heed His words, so that He and the Father can make their home with us. Obedience brings intimacy, too. So even in the little-little-little things, we must trust that God, Who knows our future, is looking out for us always. And when we do listen to Him, blessings rain down like a thunderstorm, and we will see that it pours even into the lives of those around us.

Prayer:

God, I choose to believe that You not only know better, but that all that You ask of me You ask because You want better for me. Thank You for having my back. Help me to be sensitive to Your Spirit so that when You nudge me, I will trust You. In Jesus’ name Amen.

What are your thoughts?

